Forums Latest Members
  1. bewesy Nov 9, 2011

Hi all,

I have been looking for a Geneve Dynamic for around a year now and have excitedly finally bitten the bullet and made a purchase. During the time I was searching I came across several posts on this forum and you all seem like a friendly/knowledgable bunch, so I thought Id direct my query here.

Im not new to watches - I have a number already - but I am new to the high-end/vintage scene and am just wanting a second opinion on this.

From what I have read, and I can see, the fonts are all spot on and the colour scheme is correct, but there doesnt seem to be any luminessence on the hands/hour markers, and from what Ive read, they all had luminous hands/markers?

The dial is in incredible condition which leads me to believe has been refinished. Am i correct? Not always a bad thing though...

The main question is, when you shake the watch, you can hear the faint buzz of the winding mechanism, as you would if you wound it from the crown, but also hear/feel a faint rattle. I cant seem to see the movement moving so could it be a loose rotor? Theres no scraping sounds which would indictate it touching the casing. What do you think? Ive never owned a vintage or automatic so really dont know what to expect.

I would probably rather send it back then take it to a jewellers and face a few hundred quid bill on a watch that is new to me.

Other than that it keeps excellent time and seems to have decent power.

Your help/advice would be much appreciated, and apologies if I appear so ignorant on the subject.

Cheers
    Andy

photo2.JPG

2. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Nov 9, 2011

No lume from that era will still glow since its Tritium, which goes dark with age. As for the rest, there are more qualified people, but I think it looks pretty cool.

3. ulackfocus Nov 9, 2011