Forums Latest Members

Newer than new to here - looking to buy for the fiancee... help!

1. missbeks May 11, 2015

Hello!

So, full disclosure: utter newbie here. I've been researching Omegas a little in my spare time. I'm hoping to get a vintage seamaster for the fiancee as a graduation present. I'm super nervous about eBay (fakes, quality etc etc).

Can anyone give their advice/opinion on:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Vintage-...65?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item33a1ffc6e1Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

and/or

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Mint-Men...04?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item58c4769008Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

THANK YOU.

2. lillatroll May 11, 2015

In the watches for sale section here speed bird is selling a seamaster 30, It is a nice looking watch. Not sure about the price in relation to this watch as it is not the style of watch I collect. It has an extract from omega so atleast you know it is genuine. You maybe starting him off on an addiction he can t kick :)

3. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder May 11, 2015

In your position, (new, inexperienced, eager) I would NEVER buy from ebay in your circumstances.
    Buy from a private seller here on the forum. Very few need the money so unlike professional sellers, they are not trying to squeeze the last $ out of you, and the watches are usually correct, or at least correctly described.
    Dont get me wrong, we all like the money, but its not about the money - unlike ebay.

4. Steve1haggart May 11, 2015

hello and welcome ,
    The first Seamaster your looking at is a bit beat up and for the price id give it a miss.