Forums Latest Members

Newbie Trying to Learn - Omega Seamaster Bumper 2576-5

1. AnotherJones Jun 15, 2017

Hi All,

I am pretty new to this, and am looking to purchase my first vintage Omega. I have found this forum to be very very useful, so thought I would open a thread about a watch I was considering. I had some thoughts on it and I hope the experts can point out everything that I missed! I did not get the watch, so no need to sugar coat any responses.

I was looking at this item on this ebay link herePurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network.

A couple of photos are below

I like the look of the watch, but I was a little concerned that a Jewel was missing from the movement, compared to this item linked here. I also cannot see any seamaster markings on the outside of the back case, but was unsure if they had been polished off, or just should not be present. Coupled with the non-original crown I decided against bidding more aggressively, as I have no idea if these items would need correcting, and if so how difficult.expensive it would be.

Any thoughts or advice on this would be much appreciated, as it will definitely help me learn and with my search for my first Omega watch.

Many thanks!

upload_2017-6-15_12-2-5.png

upload_2017-6-15_12-2-52.png

Edited Jun 15, 2017
  2. ahsposo Most fun screen name at ΩF Jun 15, 2017

First I must say the second example is a horrible redial. U.G.L.Y.

Second I must ask Which jewel do you see missing? (I'm just waking up and about to have my first sip of coffee, maybe it's obvious...)

The back does look suspicious to me. So does the dial. It looks a HELL of a lot better than that Vintage Watches example but it sure doesn't make me smile.

You were right to hold off on this watch. There are plenty of really nice old bumper Seamasters available.