Forums Latest Members

Newbie ... trying to buy son a vintage Omega Seamaster for Christmas

1. tripletmom Dec 6, 2016

Hi ... thanks for such a great place to learn about these watches! My son has told me that he would like a classic looking vintage watch . I have no experience with watches, so I've been googling and reading as much as I can find ... I was drawn to the older Omega Seamaster and was excited when I read that this watch is indeed a good starting point for a wanna be watch collector ( i.e., my son )
    So I look and look and look and call local shops here . I become more and more confused. There is so much to know ! Even the people selling them cannot tell you what they have ... how are you supposed to know what a fair price is if the seller can't give you even the most basic information?
    So I was thrilled to find this group . My thoughts are , I buy my son his first vintage timepiece for Christmas and I introduce him to this group and start him on a journey ... but first, I have to pick a watch!! He's only 16, so I don't want to start him out with anything too nice ... I'm afraid he might lose it honestly ! But by the time that he graduates High School, he should be ready for a nicer vintage watch ... so this is where we start :)

I found a SS locally, it wasn't exactly the style that I was looking at online ... but the price grabbed me ( and the fact that it was local ) ... but now I am second guessing myself on this watch ... and thinking that I'd be better off going with a reputable online seller ... if anyone could offer any advice or information on this watch, I would be so grateful ... thanks in advance :)

IMG_2813.JPG IMG_2814.JPG IMG_2815.JPG IMG_2816.JPG
  2. gemini4 Hoarder Of Speed et alia Dec 6, 2016

The dial is redone, and badly

Kathmandu!, chronos and tripletmom like this.
  3. Davidt Dec 6, 2016

Please don't buy that watch. The dial has been horrendously repainted.