Forums Latest Members
  1. GlenM Dec 27, 2013

Hi All,
    I'm a newbie to the world of Omega (but own a couple of decent watches from other makes)
    I've been looking on ebay recently, for a vintage watch, and keep coming back to Omega.
    My initial preference was for a Seamaster (silver colour / black or blue dial, possibly with date or sub seconds).
    Then I started seeing WW2 issue ones which took my liking.
    I've got a budget of around £500 ($800 or so)

But... Many of the listings give the impression that the watches may not be totally original.
    What should I be looking out for?
    What is achievable with my budget (I think the WW2 originals may be too pricey for a good one)?
    How can I make sure I get one which is relatively original?

Thanks!

2. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Dec 27, 2013

When you say WW2 original are you talking about those giant watches?

3. GlenM Dec 27, 2013

No, not the giants. Just the standard army issue (I understand there were several manufacturers as well as omega)

Like this:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AUTHENTIC...es_Watches_MensWatches_GL&hash=item485ba9b210Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

Or, this is the style of non ww2 watch I like the look of.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VINTAGE-6...es_Watches_MensWatches_GL&hash=item2c6f4d2bb2Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

Not sure about the authenticity of any of these though...

4. stefan Dec 27, 2013

Both have refinished dials, you can do better :)

5. GlenM Dec 27, 2013

I was concerned about the refinished dials - my thought is what is the point of buying a vintage watch if it looks brand new?
    Apart from a more original dial, what else should I be looking for (I keep seeing horror stories of frankenwatches, but probably would not spot problems until too late!)?
    should I avoid ebay (or just sellers from certain locations?)