Forums Latest Members
  1. Big Mamma Jamma Jun 7, 2016

Good morning!

I'm new to horology and to the forum. I want my first acquisition to be a vintage Seamaster as I just love the timeless look of the watches.

However, I'm nervous about buying a fake and the information out there is overwhelming.

So, a couple of questions.....

Are there certain vintages considered as must haves?

How can I determine whether one is fake? I looked at the sticky but some of those are so obvious even with me being a newb I recognized it right away.

I found this one on eBay and it looks fantastic. Any thoughts? www.ebay.com/itm/262466111362?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AITPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

2. UncleBuck understands the decision making hierarchy Jun 7, 2016

Hi Big'un and welcome to the forum!

Enjoy the excitement of searching for your first vintage watch, the anticipation can be a huge part of the fun.
    Try to be patient, look at a lot of watches (check out the WRUW thread) and determine exactly what tickles you the most.

Show us your dream and establish a budget and we'll help you find a nice, original one that will go up in value and become a friend for life.

The watch on ebay has been refurbished and will only go down in value to collectors that covet all-original.
    If you just want a nice watch to wear, this may not be a problem to you.
    However, we are a collectors forum and will try to steer you into our madness.

Anyway, welcome and enjoy the search!

Big Mamma Jamma, OMGRLX and JimInOz like this.
  3. ConElPueblo Jun 7, 2016

There are extremely few outright Omega fakes, so that is little to worry about.