Forums Latest Members

Newbie looking for advice on inherited 551 Constellation

1. bsuttie Dec 29, 2015

Hi. total newbie here looking for advice on this watch that my wife inherited from her father.
    Not sure if it has any value as to my eye it looks in very poor condition. Her recollection is that at some point it went through a washing machine! It doesn't currently run, although the hands can be moved. We think it's from around 1960.

Has the encounter with the washing machine put an end to it? Or is it worth trying to get it refurbished?

Any advice appreciated

Brian
    DSC04678.jpg DSC04683.jpg DSC04684.jpg

2. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member Dec 29, 2015

The watch looks in tough shape, especially the movement, however it has good bones. The case and dial look good. As you are in far north UK, perhaps some of our UK members can connect you with a sympathetic watchmaker that can put it right. It is not hopeless.

PatrickJ and bsuttie like this.
  3. ahsposo Most fun screen name at ΩF Dec 29, 2015

That watch is well worth a rehab!

Case looks unpolished and the dial looks good. The movement needs a thorough service - which may cost a bit but will be money well spent - and a new crystal. The crown needs replacing,hopefully to something correct for that model.

4. Davidt Dec 29, 2015

Have a look at Christian and @Mitka at www.watchguy.co.uk. The're UK based watch repairers/servicers, with an on-line blog so you can see previous work.

Tritium and bsuttie like this.
  5. VetPsychWars Wants to be in the club! Dec 29, 2015

No obvious signs of rust. I think it's worth restoring.

Tom

6. GlenM Dec 29, 2015

The serial number dates it to approx 1962. I think it is well worth a service/repair. Just don't be tempted to have it renovated to 'as new' - I think it should keep as much of it's history and battle scars as possible.

7. nxw1969 Dec 29, 2015