Forums Latest Members
  1. iver aldas Apr 28, 2013

Hi Gents, greetings! My name is Iver and I am a documentary Photographer based in Manila, Philippines and a new member on this forum. I recently got hooked with vintage watches especially with omega seamaster(s) and other vintage chronograph watches including of course the infamous vintage moon watch speedmaster(which is in "next to buy" list). I'm not new into vintage stuffs as my heart has been into Film Cameras which I am also using in my work. These are leica's, hasselblad, contax, mamiya, ricoh, nikon F series, etc2x(I could mention all of them here all day). ;) I've never been into watches before as I told myself that I don't need it as I have my mobile phone with me that could give me the time so I could not justify myself in purchasing a watch. So after all these years I've dedicated myself to cameras and nothing else.

But one time when a fellow photographer posted on our photography forum about a blog post from Hodinkee where in they found a store(I know this store because this is one of the many stores in the world where we get our leica's) in Ginza, Japan for their hunt of the Grand Seiko. I wasn't attracted with the vintage leica's that Hodinkee showed on that blog post but i fell in love with the Grand Seiko. That is where my research started and i think that was 2 or 3 months ago. As a documentary photographer I am used in doing intensive research of the stories that I want to cover. This is to familiarize me with the topic and the things I need to come up with an excellent story. So what I did for the last 3 months is to research about watches, their history and everything no photography, nothing else except watches. I have this book project that I am working for 3 years and I am in my first year now and counting but it stopped for a while as this watch thing is making me crazy(I need to be rehabbed).