Forums Latest Members

Newbie - first watch purchase - Is it a fake?

1. sdebers Jul 5, 2017

Need a little help - been doing lots of reading about box, docs, and condition on watches.
    Edited the title- This is a gift for my hubby, but with one poster raising a bit of concern wondered if others thought it was a fake?
    I found a watch in my price range but want to get input from people who have some experience buying these used.
    Without any experience am I better off buying from a jeweler?? Or if I have docs, and seems legit is buying from an individual going to be difficult? I'm thinking about future service etc. The seller has shown it does have some scratches seems upfront about the piece, and has answered all my questions.
    Any input is appreciated, attached are pics of the watch I'm considering buying.

omega1.jpg omega2.jpg omega3.jpg omega4.jpg
    Edited Jul 5, 2017
  2. Canuck Jul 5, 2017

I'm no expert on these, but I Googled that ref. #, and it showed up on a site that offers replica watches! The watch doesn't look right to me, somehow. Terrible picture, and nothing showing the interior case back, and movement. Check out watches for sale being offered by Omega message board sellers. Here's a link.

https://omegaforums.net/forums/watches-for-sale/

I have a strong suspicion that the prices on real Omegas might give you a basis for comparison on (what I suspect) might be a replica watch. Let's hear what the experts have to say.

3. sdebers Jul 5, 2017

The price seems in line with Bernand and Govberg watches, just the 2nd band being included saving a few 100.
    The idea of searching the Ref # ... edited ... I did some checking the number on the warranty card that is seen in the pic is the model number of this watch.
    Also the post has pics of the back of the watch and the movement I just didn't include them.

Edited Jul 5, 2017
  4. repoman Jul 5, 2017