Forums Latest Members

Newbie advice on Seamaster model and question about refurbishment

1. TOTIZ Mar 11, 2018

Good afternoon Ladies and Gentlemen,

I’m a complete newbie to the world of watches, let alone vintage Omegas, so please excuse my naivety and the length of my post.

Whilst looking at more modern Omegas, I came across some pictures of vintage Seamasters and to be honest, I´ve been bitten by the bug. The sheer style and class are breathtaking. This leads me to my dilemma; not only am I new to watches, I have absolutely no idea about vintage watches and would like to avoid the obvious pitfalls. I’ve been studying the Vintage Omega section (especially ConElPueblo’s excellent thread “Learning how to fish”) and also some of the watches for sale in the Private Watch Sales section, but just haven´t found the “right” one.

As this will be my first Omega, let alone first vintage watch, I will want to keep it, wear it on a regular basis (smart casual or suit) and have no interest in selling it. Bearing this in mind, I have a number of questions and I’m hoping that more experienced owners and collectors will be able to point me in the right direction.

I think I understand what a franken watch is (different parts from different models, even if all the parts are from Omega) and I also understand that as soon as one part of a watch is changed (even with original parts from the same model), it loses it’s attractiveness to a collector and falls somewhat in price, but where exactly do refurbished vintage Omegas come into play, or is it more a subjective matter depending on whether you’re an enthusiast or a collector ?

This question is more for the future as I have to learn to walk before I can run, but if a vintage watch is in a less than very good condition and definitely needs work on it, how much work can be done before it loses all appeal to collectors and becomes an enthusiast’s watch ?