Forums Latest Members
  1. arturo7 Mar 30, 2019

Is it good policy to avoid listings that do not show pics of the movement?

2. Jo3Daddy Mar 30, 2019

I personally wouldn’t feel comfortable about buying a watch with out seeing the movement. But if the seller has a return policy that might be a different story.

Mac5 likes this.
  3. rincondeltiempo Mar 30, 2019

Adding to what @Jo3Daddy said, you can always request pictures of the movement. I'm sure most sellers wouldn't mind.

4. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Mar 30, 2019

Good luck getting them. Based on my experience, if movement photos aren't posted, you likely won't get them.

Muddlerminnow, ChrisN, Dan S and 2 others like this.
  5. Edward53 Mar 30, 2019

connieseamaster likes this.
  6. pweingarten Mar 30, 2019

I've had a lot of experience. Often depends on the watch. For the new ones, I wouldn't bother. For everything else, yes.

7. ahsposo Most fun screen name at ΩF Mar 30, 2019

Well, if the movement is not readily accessible and the seller is not an experienced watch person, I include myself in this group, exposing the movement may lead to more problems, ie. dust, dirt, fingerprints on the dial, etc.

I would rather take my chances on a movement than buy a watch with some doofus holding the dial with his bare hands to show me some un-serviced movement. Or better yet the cheats that show a "serviced" movement and put some chicken-scratch marking inside the case-back to "prove" the dirty movement has been "serviced".

8. pweingarten Mar 30, 2019

Yeah that’s a very good point. Ebay is all about buyers. If you don’t like it when you get it, return it. A good seller always makes it right.

9. Dan S Mar 30, 2019