Forums Latest Members

New to this - Need advice on whether or not to repair..

1. epl108 Nov 22, 2013

Hi All,

I'm very new to the vintage watch world (and really the entire world of high-end time pieces) and could use the guidance of all you knowledgeable people out there. I received an Omega Speedmaster watch when my uncle passed away that he left for me in his will. I have worn it intermittently for the past few years and brought it into the Omega boutique on 5th Ave in New York City a few years ago to see what they could do about a worn out bracelet and dial. They had the watch maker take a look and said to bring it up to speed (it was loosing a fraction of a second per day) and do any other work, they'd have to send it back to Switzerland which would cost at a minimum $1,200. The customer service rep also talked me out of changing out the vintage bracelet and dial and I'm very glad she did - I know have a greater appreciation for it. I've loved wearing it since then.