New to Omega, vintage or otherwise.

I am a beginner and this is my first post. My interest, previous to now, has been primarily toward vintage American watches. I thank you for your indulgence concerning the question below. I am trying to build some level of defense against the disappointment of purchasing a fake.

After much rumination, it is the Omega brand that I am most interested in for Swiss watches. Like any beginner, fakes are one of my main concerns. I have a question on hands for Omega watches: It seems like the vast majority of Omega watches I have seen include rather long minute and hour hands, both extending at least to the numerals on the watch face. Is this pretty much the rule with authentic, vintage Omega watches?, the hour hand will extend at least to the numerals? I ask because I have seen a few rather enticing examples that feature hour hands that are much shorter than normally seen.

Thanks,

Wayne

It depends on various factors, including the location of the markers, the style of the hands, the specific reference, etc. There are many examples where the hour hand does not extend to the hour markers, and some variants where the hour hand slightly overlaps the hour markers. Often the minute hand extends to the outer edge of the hour markers, but not always, it depends on the location of the minute markers. I'd suggest posting photos if you have a specific question, we have no idea what style or era of watch you are referring to.
Edited:

Thanks. I appreciate the need for photos, and will do so in future. Examples that I have seen, and prompted my question, have hour hands that extend to nowhere near the hour markers, sometimes extending to only half-way between center and hour marker.

This would be an example:

s-l1600.jpg

s-l1600.jpg