Forums Latest Members

New to Omega Forums with questions about a JPM 8 Day Clock...

1. TheEclectic Feb 18, 2019

Hello! I am new to collecting clocks and have recently acquired this Omega 8 Day Clock with a black face and wonderful artwork. It says, "Mare Oceano" and "Tropicus Cancri". It has the initials JPM in the lower right hand corner. I did wind it a little and it ran for a while, but it stopped. It's in nice condition. Would this piece need a clock repair or a watch repair/servicer? Also, is this a collectible clock? Any ideas of value? I haven't seen anything like it anywhere to get information. Thank you for your time and expertise! Fran

DSC00065.JPG DSC00072.JPG
    OMTOM likes this.
  2. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Feb 18, 2019

Well the movement was a US market movement as shown by the OXG marking.

11m serial puts it about 1947.

As for when and where the face was and case was made I’m not sure, it’s out of my knowledge.

Deafboy, TheEclectic and time flies like this.
  3. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Feb 18, 2019

I agree with @Foo2rama, but would probably date the serial a bit later, the 11 million series was used (in low production quantities) up to 1953.

The case and dial were made for Omega's American market by Jean-Pierre Matthey-Claudet, thus the JPM on the dial.

The movement is a caliber 42.9 8D REV CLEF 15P

42.9 = diameter in mm
    8D = 8 Days run time
    REV = Revision (?)
    CLEF = Key wind
    15P = 15 jewelled movement

@OMTOM may be able to add more info (or correct anything I've written).

Cheers

Jim

4. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Feb 18, 2019

PS: It will need the services of a watchmaker, rather than a clockmaker. It is reasonably rare and often sought after by Omega clock collectors. Value would be considerable, compared to other standard clocks of that era.

Foo2rama likes this.
  5. TheEclectic Feb 18, 2019

Thank you for the information! It is very interesting for sure...appreciate your knowledge!