Forums Latest Members
  1. SectionEht May 27, 2012

Hello,

I've been wanting to pick up a vintage Omega for some time now and today was the day! The guys from Hodinkee had a pop-up sale in San Francisco and I couldn't refuse. This particular piece came from Matthew Bain. I'm a total newbie when it comes to vintage watches and would love any info that anyone could provide. It has a case diameter of 36.6mm, the movement is hand wound and beats at 18,000 bph. I would love to know the approx year it was made, what movement it may have in it, what kind of power reserve I can expect, if everything on it looks original, and whatever other info you guys might have. Also, what kind of accuracy can I expect from a vintage piece like this? Sorry about the iPhone pics, it is all I have at this time. I know can have a lot more info if i get the caseback off but I don't feel comfortable doing that on my own. Thanks in advance for the info!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

alam likes this.
  2. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member May 27, 2012

A few things I can tell you from the photographs:

1. To get the most accurate information, you are going to have to take the watch to a watchmaker and record any information from the inside cover of the case and the serial number from the movement. This will help identify the watch more precisely.

http://www.omegawatches.com/spirit/history/vintage-omegas

2. From the size of the case and general look of the watch, I would say it's a 1940's model. Probably has the famous 30mm movement inside, which is considered one of Omega's best manual wind movements.

3. The hour and minute hands look correct for the period. However, I think the sub-seconds hand has been replaced at some point. Generally, these match the main hands in color with the exception of certain certified chronometer models (which this example is not).