Forums Latest Members

New Speedmaster pro, running a bit slow, question about accuracy range of speedy

1. painquotidien Mar 22, 2019

I have a new Speedmaster pro, I am a very new forum member, and I have a question about accuracy.

My new speedy loses about 4s a day. I just wanted to ask two things

1) why Omega has a target of -1/+12s why the range is not symmetrical in relation to 0?
    2) is -4s a day acceptable, I understand that it is essentially out of the range but would it be reasonable for me to get it back to Omega?

Obligatory photo attached

IMG_20190322_125354 copy.jpg
  2. Canuck Mar 22, 2019

Perhaps better you should give an indication as to what sort of accuracy you would find acceptable, and ask for an expert opinion as to whether that standard is even achievable with a Speedmaster.

3. Risto Mar 22, 2019

That is normal. I think mine is similar. It's running +5 sec. Does not really matter. Could be regulated though.
    I guess how the watch runs depends on how you wear it, what position it has, how it sits at night etc.
    Enjoy it!

4. painquotidien Mar 22, 2019

Thank you for the answers. -4 sec is acceptable to me, however I am wondering why omega thinks it is not. Is there a reason that the acceptable range for Omega is -1 to +11s?

5. Vercingetorix Spam Risk Mar 22, 2019

Probably because it’s easier to hack a fast running watch to bring it in time, than to wait 55 seconds and advance the minute hand.

reemas and Foo2rama like this.
  6. OWa Mar 22, 2019

Their opinion is that they prefer a watch running fast because you would be rather early and not late to an appointment. Their METAS specification also reflects this 0 / +5 seconds.

7. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Mar 22, 2019

Please read this thread, as it will shed light on how the timing tolerances work, and why your watch is likely fine even though it's running less than -1:

https://omegaforums.net/threads/tim...-understand-how-they-work.87293/#post-1128576