Forums Latest Members
  1. Jimmy Lawrence Mar 23, 2015

Hello All,

I'm totally new to this forum, and I'm also a totally new Omega owner (two days now). I decided to start watch collecting a couple of months ago but decided to buy a Speedmaster Pro as my first. This would require some saving up (I'm a PhD student, so I'm as poor as they come). However, I was dying for something to admire while I wait. I live in Berlin Germany, and it turns out vintage watches flow in the streets like beer. I decided to buy this Seamaster 600 because it only cost me 240 Euro. I also see the guys who sold it to me every weekend, selling their watches at an antique market (so I know where to find them). Anyways, I brought the watch to the Omega boutique store today to let them take a look. They liked it, and said it was in "good shape". Unfortunately the watchmaker is currently attending Baselworld, so I couldn't get a "real" expert opinion. The nice salesman there said "we can make it look and work like brand new". It already keeps good time, I notice an approximate one minute loss for every 24 hours. The work would include the usual overhaul of the movement and replacing all that is normally replaced. Also, new crystal and even gold plating can be done. I won't get an exact quote till the watchmaker returns, but he guessed everything would be around 800 Euro. This sounded like a great deal to me. To have a, pretty much, new Omega Seamaster 600 for 1,040 Euro (including a two year warranty). I'm very tempted to do this, but this will undoubtedly delay my purchace of the Speedy for another year or two. Is this worth it? As of right now, I think it is. I know collectors like all original parts, but I just want a slice of masterpiece on my wrist. My girlfriend said it looked like a cheap crap watch (in its present condition). I think the watch deserves a return back home for some needed love, and then be admired till the day comes that I bring home a new sibling. Let me know what you gu