Forums Latest Members
  1. fcimadomo3 Dec 29, 2014

Curious to hear everyones preference. What would you rather have when it comes to Omega? Newer watches or vintage. Also why would you choose what you choose. For me newer omegas are more asethetically pleasing and I wear my watches because of the artistry and functionality. Just want to hear what you like an why? Also I am not experienced like some here so if I'm being completely clueless to the quality of vintage let me know. Here to learn.

2. LouS Mrs Nataf's Other Son Staff Member Dec 29, 2014

Vintage. What's the question?

Seriously, vintage. Mechanical watches are a mature technology, so you are not getting massively better hardware with new, you are paying a huge premium, and what's the fun in seeing other people wearing the same watch as you.

You are right on the mark in buying for aesthetic appeal though - spend your money in the way that pleases you most. My equation just always comes up vintage.

STANDY and Spacefruit like this.
  3. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Dec 29, 2014

Good topic!

I don't know if I've landed on either side yet. I have at least one from every decade from 60's to present, though nothing really current. It is mainly aesthetics that attract me initially.

One question I haven't quite wrapped my head around yet is whether I have the gumption to stick with truly vintage pieces, largely because of parts availability. I haven't managed to find a watch maker yet that suits my needs, is reasonable cost, AND will have access to parts past end of the next year. All the certified omega repair shops I've visited recently are very expensive, and mostly pretty impersonal.. so I'm left feeling like buying vintage pieces is a little risky as once I've spent the money for the watch, I don't have a 'go to guy' for the always necessary service. I'm still on the hunt for a good, omega certified watchmaker.. but until I find one, I'm hedging closer to more contemporary pieces.