Forums Latest Members

New Old Stock - General Questions

1. pnwyankee Sep 17, 2019

I am still relatively new to the world of collecting vintage watches and am trying with the help of OF to limit my costly mistakes as I work through phase 1: every watch I see looks interesting and if I can get it at a fair price I want to own it :whipped:
    Particularly seductive are ( seemingly ) credible sellers selling a vintage watch in a brand I have been reading about in New Old Stock condition.
    They obviously pass the "it looks great" test and for a newbie like me it would seem like a 60 year old watch that has never been worn and is advertised as running well it seems there is less likelihood of discovering mechanical issues
    And yet when I find a dealer/seller whose website includes lots of New Old Stock examples, I start seeing little red flags.
    My question to OF is this - what is your general feeling about buying New Old Stock vintage watches?
    What are the pitfalls I should be aware of?

Thanks.

2. Ville_W Sep 17, 2019

One trap is that if you wish to keep it in NOS condition you can never wear it. That’s the reason why I never buy NOS watches.

DaveK and connieseamaster like this.
  3. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Sep 17, 2019

Pitfalls? Well, the fact that many vintage watches are indicated to be NOS yet they are not.

4. JwRosenthal Sep 17, 2019

Condition below new or New old stock are subjective (there are collectors standards like you have for coins and trading cards but they are much looser). If the watch has ever been out of the box and has had the stickers, hang tags removed etc- even if it were just in a jewelers showcase, then technically it is no longer “new” or new old stock. It is just “like new” or excellent at that point. Plus it must have all boxes and paperwork (and stickers and hang tags) to be NOS.