Forums Latest Members
  1. P.Greg Jan 24, 2017

Hi there,

My name is Grégory, I’m 25 and I’m from Belgium.

I’m a newbie in vintages watches but, thanks to this forum, I’ve learned many things and I became a real Omega’s fan.
    I feel lucky as some of my ancestors love quality watches and especially the Omega brand.

Last year, I was talking with my grandmother about watches and she told me « I inherited a watch from my father and I think it’s an Omega ». She didn’t know what kind of model it was and showed it to me. It was a 18k gold squared model that I’ve never seen before. She asked me : « Do you like it ? ». I answered « Yes » and she says « I give it to you ». I'm so happy, that feeling to wear an Omega that my great grandfather bought several decades ago is just amazing.

I opened it in order to find the calibre reference. It is a calibre 353, number 13.110.XXX
    After some researches on the vintage Omega website, I finally found that it is an Omega Automatic Calendar Grand-Luxe (3953 SC) 18k from 1953-1954.

My grandmother remembered that his father bought the watch in Switzerland and that he changed the original leather strap for a gold one when they made a trip in Italy. Personally, I believed that the gold strap was a little bit "too much" and I decided to change it for a leather one.
    Here is a picture with the "original" gold strap :
    OmegaCalendar%22GrandLuxe%22 - 2.jpg

And here is how it looks with the leather strap :
    Omega Calendrier Grand-Luxe - 1.jpg

She doesn’t remember any services of the mechanism. After that her father passed away, nobody used the watch.
    Therefore, I believe the watch need a good service.

Thanks for reading

2. watchyouwant ΩF Clairvoyant Jan 24, 2017

nice one ! they came in 2 sizes. what is your diameter without the crown? kind regards. achim

3. P.Greg Jan 24, 2017

Thank you

It's a 30mm diameter

4. Searching Jan 24, 2017

Really nice watch and story.

5. brunik Jan 24, 2017

Nice one!