Forums Latest Members

WTB New Guy Looking To Buy

1. pknopp Oct 15, 2012

I decided I wanted a nice watch. I first thought Rolex but while researching watches I have decided that I like the Omega watches better. I am only interested in a vintage watch. Pre-1970. I am mostly interested in an automatic.

I'm looking for a daily wear watch. I'm not going to go the money on a solid gold watch or something rare. I would be interested in one that may need a little attention. A few scratches is fine. Need a new band? Fine. I love the pie pans. Being a daily I would prefer all original but again, I likely won't want to go the money on a perfect example.

I've watched eBay but being a novice I am reluctant to bid on many of the watches with poor pics or ones that have been recently restored. In time I'll likely watch the markets and buy a nice watch for random wear but right now a I want a watch for daily wear.

Thanks

2. ulackfocus Oct 15, 2012

Take a look at the Seamaster Sparkle models from the late 60's and very early 70's. Search the word 'sparkle', '168.032', '166.023', or 'Seamaster 751' to see all the times we've discussed them. Great vintage watches with looks that still hold their own today.

3. pknopp Oct 15, 2012

Thanks, I have caught some of the discussions here and I noted one listed in the eBay thread. It appeared to me that maybe it was going for more than many thought here was a good price? (As I said, I'm a novice).

Thanks

4. ulackfocus Oct 15, 2012

If you mean the gold plated model with the Beads of Rice bracelet, than that was a good price for the buyer. Not great, but decent. I figured it for $750 - $850. If I knew it was serviced another hundred or so would have been fair.

5. pknopp Oct 15, 2012

6. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member Oct 15, 2012