Forums Latest Members

New guy, a humble collection, and an actual barn-find.

1. nzshadow Stowaway Aug 9, 2017

Well to be fair, it wasn't a barn - it was my local rubbish dump.

Hello, My name is Alan, i am relatively new to collecting watches but not new to collecting in general. Like you, I have gravitated toward Omegas.

I collect records, have done for the best part of 30 years now. It's a hobby that has seen me travel the world in search of rare, undiscovered sounds and I still consider myself a 'record digger'.

But then watches began to creep in, and that little obsessive urge is now satisfied not by obscure vinyl but the new world of movements, complications, appreciation of craftsmanship, and the subtle echoes of a simpler time.

Having grown up in flea markets, antique stores, boot sales, and thrift stores I continue to spend a considerable amount of my time in the field, on the hunt, looking to rescue choice pieces from dusty shelves.

But enough of all that for now - here are some images of the few Omegas I have managed to unearth in the last two years.

Beginning with the first watch I have owned, a 1968 Chronostop:

IMG_2037.jpg
    20160907_115430.jpg

I was immediately drawn to the clean design, and it's oddity status appealed as well. I have large wrists, and do prefer a larger size, but as an object of design and craftsmanship, I simply adore this little beauty and will never let it go. (I bought this online - after many a night of obsessive reading, and whilst I love the thrill of the hunt when out in the field, sometimes a man can be forgiven for simply shopping).

Number two is another oddity, when I first laid eyes on it in the small antique store cabinet I wasn't sure what I was looking at, but a quick Google later, I realised just how special this wonderful old girl was and I paid on the spot.