Forums Latest Members
  1. progdadam Feb 19, 2013

Hey Guys,

I'm new to Omega watches, well vintage watches in general. I've always purchased ones that I liked as long as they were well-made or if the price seemed right, but I'm just starting to get into it more as a hobby instead of a mere infatuation lol. I'm a jewelry dealer by trade, so I run across the occasional unusual piece. Pleased to meet all of you and while I may not be able to contribute much to start (unless for some reason there happens to be a rant on antique Mexican silver), I do look forward to reading and learning.

To that end, I picked this up from an antique dealer yesterday and would love any information you can provide. With my limited skills, I believe it to be a 1938 Staybrite and with the way the movement is screwed into the case, an early method/attempt to make it water resistant?

I would love to know 4 things:

1. Is that the correct model and year designation?

2. Would the current condition warrant any type of preservation or restoration to help the value?

3. I couldn't find any type of value in my searches, except one guy in the UK selling what appeared to be the same model in much better condition (though restored) for - L1250. I'm not sure how much of what he was saying was a sales pitch and how much was genuine:

http://www.antiquewatchcouk.com/watchesforsale/omegawaterproof3.htm

Any help on the value of this particular piece I picked up would be appreciated (just so I know whether or not to revisit the guy and relieve him of a couple of teeth) lol

4. Is there a good resource I could use to find out some or all of this information so I can be more self-sufficient and not bug you guys. :)

Thank you very much and look forward to meeting you!

Jason

Staybrite0.jpg Staybrite1.jpg Staybrite2.jpg Staybrite3.jpg Staybrite4.jpg

2. Alpha Kilt Owner, Beagle Parent, Omega Collector Feb 19, 2013

Hi Jason and welcome.