Forums Latest Members
  1. Mancity1956 Jun 9, 2014

omega 1.jpg omega 2.jpg

omega 3.jpg Hi,
    I have a Omega Seamaster, not in a very good condition.

I am hoping to get it sorted to a good standard within a year as I want a decent quality omega without spending thousands to wear daily.

Leslie omega 2.jpg omega 1.jpg

2. Mothra Jun 9, 2014

Leslie, you are very welcome to the forum - I'm hoping you are aware that watch has some serious issues that mean it may not be the best example for your plan?

Quite aside from the dial damage, I don't think the Seamaster and Geneve text belongs together - so its already a redial which will destroy any collector value; the dial has T for tritium on it, but the hands aren't lumped and so don't match; the second hand is missing; someone's hand scrawled unadj on the movement and the rotors rubbing on the case back. The case has also been well polished....

All these things can be corrected but its going to cost more than a Seamaster in much better condition.

Hoping I don't offend, offering advice to you freely....

3. Siac Jun 9, 2014

Mothra, your knowledge and Sherlock skills are beyond doubt.. can you help me to spot more?
    I sussed out Seamaster and Geneve, but what do you mean by "hands lumped" and "rotor rubbing"?

Thanks in advance.

4. Mothra Jun 9, 2014

Foiled by autocorrect again. That should be 'hands aren't lumed'. I'm still learning like most of us, but If you look at the case back interior you can see a ring where the autowind rotor has been grinding - this matches the high spot on the rotor itself where the plating has been ground away. Its not bad, and can be fixed, but it doesn't suggest a well cared for movement and could indicate more parts required.

5. Mancity1956 Jun 10, 2014

Thanks Mothra,
    I am not after getting it up to a concourse standard just a nice clean correct Omega Seamaster.

Leslie

6. Mancity1956 Jun 10, 2014

Mothra,