Forums Latest Members

Need To Source A Valjoux 7750 Calibre 1164 For My Seamaster 300

1. blackcat23 Mar 13, 2013

Hi guys, I've been posting in the vintage forum for a couple months, but this time need to see if anybody know of a reliable source for the Omega calibre 1164 Valjoux 7750 movement. I bought a Seamaster Pro Chronometer on Ebay with box and papers knowing that it had water damage and was for parts or service. After taking it apart the salvage of the parts isn't looking good due to the extensive corrosion. Even after ultrasonic and polishing the wheels are shot. I'd like to ideally get the Omega 1164 as opposed to the generic 7750 in Ofrei. I'm thinking that keeping the internals Omega official will help resale some day (let me know if there is any reason not to follow this line of thinking). Thanks for any help guys.

2. blackcat23 Mar 13, 2013

Incidentally, I do have the original rotor in perfect condition. thought I'd mention since some people have tossed around the idea that it was the only upgrade to the generic 7750 platform.

3. ulackfocus Mar 13, 2013

Keep an eye out on eBay. They pop up. Never for a cheap price though.

4. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Mar 13, 2013

Hello - are you a watchmaker? Just curious as a stock 7750 has some differences from the Cal. 1164. First you would need to make sure all the hand heights are the same for the stock 7750 and the specific Cal. 1164 that is in the model you have (different dial thicknesses can lead to different hand heights so longer posts on all the wheel that have hands on them).

The decoration is quite different than a stock 7750, and not just the rotor. You would also have to remove the day functions, since the 1164 only has the date. Also the shape of the automatic bridge is completely different on an 1164 than a stock 7750.

And of course, a movement from Otto Frei will not be a certified chronometer.