Need some perspective from real estate experts

Good Sunday all,

I was wondering if anybody with real estate knowledge could chime in with regards to the sale of a property.

Why would somebody boost the price of their property that isn't selling? Our landlord has put their property up for sale last spring and it isnt't selling, yet, she has boosted their price. Any insight on this kind of strategy from experts in the matter?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Faz

I'm no expert, but it is not an uncommon strategy. Under what conditions it is most likely to be effective, I do not know.

She received too many lowball offers.

Because people will then think they are lowballing when they do a deal...
Edited:

Couple thoughts:

Does she have another property in the area looking to boost its price?

Did she increase rent hence increasing the ROI

Maybe she is planning a big price drop in the future. 😁

TBH, the facts presented in your post suggest that she isn't really serious about selling the property. I have seen some properties sitting for months locally because the asking price is too high, and I am pretty cynical about those sellers.

We sold our home a few months ago and we tried to price it accurately at market value after a pretty careful analysis of comps. Apparently, the house showed well, the timing was good, and some details made it more desirable than expected. People really wanted to live there. We received three offers in the first day, all above asking price, with the winning offer about 10% over asking with a 2.5 week closing. We were very happy with the outcome.

Once a house is stale on the market, it's unlikely that you will have a chance to stimulate buyers this way, but I am convinced that pricing a house accurately is generally going to be the best strategy.
Edited:

She probably fancies buying a new Omega with the equity, but Omega keeps raising prices. 😲