Forums Latest Members
  1. PatrickJ Apr 20, 2015

I am trying to study font variations in the OMEGA and AUTOMATIC lettering in Geneve models with date from 1967 to 1974.

As a novice I have looked on the net and not had much luck apart from Google images.

Since looking at the thread for newbies on the constalation can anyone direct me to similar information for the geneve and it's history in the late 1960s and early to mid 70s.

Thank you.

2. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter Apr 20, 2015

Hmmm, geneves were not as highly sought after, so I don't know of a dedicated website like there are for constellations and speedies. I think I would start searching threads here for discussions of geneves? That will hopefully also give you lots of photos.

Make sure you write up your research for us all.

3. SeanO Apr 20, 2015

you'll be lucky to find anything substantial.

EBAY searches of sold items with a focus on descriptions, sales from reputable vendors with descriptions along with AJTT and the Omega online database could provide answers that would support your questions regarding the font variations. I doubt you'll get anything definitive tho'.

4. Blaise Apr 20, 2015

I would start with Omega database too. If you can get a copy of the 'Journey through time' that can be of great help too. Those are safe sources, ebay....not so much

PatrickJ likes this.
  5. PatrickJ Apr 20, 2015

Interesting point I have seen in excess of about 80 geneve dials from 1967 to about 1973 on Google. At least 90% had a similar font to mine pic with red background. The second pic is off the net and the third pic is from a forum member (hope he does not mind me posting it) A handful (10%)of them had the more standard straight lined thinner non exaggerated font particularly at M and G.

Wonder if they are both correct? But struggling to find any good research info will keep trying.