Forums Latest Members

need help in finding a pusher cap for an Omega Speedmaster pre-moon from 1965

1. garacs Dec 2, 2020

Dear fellow tinkerers,

I am looking for a pusher cap for a 1965 Omega Speedmaster Pre-Moon chronograph. I am not able at the moment to correctly identify the part number nor the correct pusher size, since the watch is not in my hands. Yet, doing some research, I was able to find the following information:

Caliber: 321
    Omega reference Number: 105.012-64 (or 65) - Serial no.22827xxx (so this should set it to be 65... ?)
    I was told the part number should be 7889666666 (but honestly, not being an omega expert, I have no idea how to use that number. Any research brings to nothing
    The dimensions of the pusher should be 5x3mm, and according to Speedmaster101.com:

"Original pushers on this reference are 5mm wide and 3mm tall and are known as Short and Fat pushers, or mushroom pushers. The original ones have fat necks when compared to service replacements."

Source: https://speedmaster101.com/105-012/

I did find a pusher, but it is stated to be for a 105.003. Dimensions given are similar but not exact:

Pusher cap 4.5mm
    Mid section 3.3mm
    Part that fits into the case 2.36mm

I added some unfortunately blurry photos to this thread, to to show the pusher with the missing cap. The watch is not being worn at the moment. The stud inside the pusher appears to work correctly, so apparently no spring got lost. Yet it seems there was supposed to be some kind of sealing gasket on the pusher itself?

Thanks for the help, appreciate any information.

IMG_20201130_160235.jpg IMG_20201130_160247.jpg
  2. michael e Still learning. Dec 2, 2020

You need a cap and the metal ring that fits into the pusher to hold it in place. The pusher will have to come off either way to fit it If you can find one that is.

P.S