Forums Latest Members
  1. Auttasit Aug 6, 2017

Hi,

I am a newbie for the vintage world. This is my first post here on the OF. I have been stick to this forum for a while but never posted anything.

I am looking for a 1665 DR and came across this 5.1xxxxx serial. The seller is nice and the asking price is about market average price .

From my point of view, the watch is slightly polished but still maintains thick lugs. Crown guard is still ok. The case back has serial number on it.

The insert is later replaced. The dial is mark IV which is correct with the serial range.

The bracelet is 93150 with 585 end links. Everything seems to be ok to me.

Need your help here guys. Is there something else I should be concerned? Every comment is welcome and appreciated.
    Sorry for low quality pictures.

Auttasit 20604477_10213932301242032_3692340708684817034_n.jpg

20604636_10213932301202031_5653243227440182882_n.jpg
    case back.jpg
    crown.jpg
    dial.jpg
    helium valve.jpg model number.jpg
    serial.jpg

2. omitohud Aug 6, 2017

Looks good to me. You r on point with all the observation. It even has the super dome [emoji15]. I would find a proper later mark 3 FF to "complete" a beauty like this.

watch3s, Auttasit and McJamesT like this.
  3. McJamesT Aug 6, 2017

I love older subs and SD's but they scare the heck out of me. I dont understand all the nuance and at those prices, it's important. That said, really pretty watch, I cant offer anything on the validiity but good luck with it and enjoy!

watch3s and Auttasit like this.
  4. TTG Suffers from watch FOMO. Aug 6, 2017

Is this a watch you can see first hand or buying from these pictures? Looks like you have done a bit of homework already.
    I would ask for better (a lot of) pictures without a flash of everything, caseback, dial writing (unobstructed) and the plots to look at the tritium condition/loss. The 6 o'clock marker shows as if the tritium is lifting.