Forums Latest Members
  1. ghtl2014 Feb 22, 2014

Hello Forum Members,

My husband is a simple man who has always put his family first before himself. He is turning 40 this year and since he's a sentimental kind of guy I thought it would really be great to get him a watch from his birth year as a special gift. I'm open to any brand but am leaning more towards Omega, and because of it's simplicity and relative affordability, the Geneve model. But since I am a total newbie to vintage watch buying, I'd greatly appreciate your advice on the following:
    - What is the best way to determine a watch's authenticity? If the serial/case number provided in the watch description doesn't come up when I put it into the Omega database, should I pass on it?
    - What's a reasonable amount to pay for an authentic, good quality watch? I really have my heart set on getting a watch from 1974 but I don't want to spend foolishly. The price/quality ratio is important for me rather than just price alone. I have a limited budget but would consider stretching it to get the real deal rather than get something for a bargain and find out later I've been had or have simply overpaid because I didn't do my research.
    - I'm not necessarily looking for a collector- or investment-level watch so what features are most important and what can I compromise on (for ex. repainted dial)? I'd like to avoid the so-called frankenwatches, but are these really an absolute no-no even for non-collectors?
    - Since this is a one-time purchase (I hope! I've only been browsing a few days and I can understand while it could get addicting), I would also consider a different model/style and would appreciate suggestions.

I'm eagerly looking forward to your responses. Thanks so much in advance!

P.S. Would it be ok to post the same query in other forums?

2. mondodec Editor Constellation Collectors Blog Feb 22, 2014

Firstly, congrats on the sentiment behind your search for a Birth Year watch.