Forums Latest Members

Need a gut check on an ed white speedy I'm considering

1. Kazyole Nov 4, 2015

(Here's the album)http://imgur.com/a/RHaOe

Shitty pictures, but it's a 105.003.65

Looking for your guys opinions on the watch. Seller says it was serviced 2 months ago and is keeping good time, chrono resets as it should (which you can see in one of the blurry shots)

Bezel and dial look original to me but I'm not an expert on Ed White speedies. Hands need a bit of work and the bracelet looks wrong, but at the price he's asking I think I'd be ok.

So, would you pick up this watch? If so, what do you think would be a fair price?

2. mozambique Nov 4, 2015

I like the look of it. Nice aged bezel, case lugs look reasonable. Missing lume from dial and hands which will lower value quite a bit. Non-original Omega bracelet. No photo of the case back - I would want to see how worn that is. Also would want to know the movement serial number.

3. Kazyole Nov 4, 2015

Thanks for the response! The guy is saying he doesn't have the tools to take off the caseback (the pictures were taken by his watchmaker) so it's a bit of a shot in the dark as far as the movement serial goes. I've asked for caseback photos and better shots of the lugs to get an idea of the state of the case.

He's asking 3200, which is what caught my attention. One of the cheapest ed whites I've seen, and not in awful shape from what I can tell.

4. abrod520 Nov 4, 2015

DO NOT BUY THIS WATCH

5. abrod520 Nov 4, 2015

Don't buy! Those photos surface every couple of weeks from a scammer. Search "ed white scam" here and you'll probably find those exact photos within 5 minutes.

6. Kazyole Nov 4, 2015

Any particular reason? The fact that he doesn't have the tools to remove the caseback doesn't particularly strike me as a red flag. Hell, I've had to tell buyers that before when selling watches.

7. mozambique Nov 4, 2015

a scammer is a whole separate issue.....................suspiciously cheap!