Forums Latest Members

My patient walked in with what I believe is a 105.003 in great condition. What's it worth?

1. cleanup Oct 6, 2016

I am not a Speedy expert; I own a transitional 3950.50 and wear the pants out of it, but know very little about even older references.

I am a dental surgeon and had a patient come in wearing an old Speedmaster. I told him it was beautiful. Upon closer inspection it's a straight-lug pre-professional model. He said he bought it in 1967 and he is the original owner. A couple years ago Omega replaced (from his recollection) the crystal, the crown, and the bracelet. He still has the old bracelet but says it's in pieces, and I think Omega did him a bit of a disservice with the new bracelet (appears to be the same bracelet I have on my 3950.

Otherwise, the dial, hands & bezel all appear original. The condition looks great. Maybe some light polishing, but you can indeed see that it has actually aged relatively little.

I told him it was worth quite a bit more than he thought (he had estimated $3000 CAD). I told him it was closer to $10k, but I feel as though in this sort of condition it may be well beyond that. He doesn't have box, papers, unfortunately, but I feel as though the condition of the watch speaks for itself.

Any thoughts as to how much it would be worth?

Cheers guys. File_000.jpeg

Dash1 likes this.
  2. Lapanouse Oct 6, 2016

Your estimate could be very close. Photos would be necessary to determine whether it's a 5k or 15k dollar watch.

cleanup likes this.
  3. cvrle1 Oct 6, 2016

bazamu likes this.
  4. cleanup Oct 6, 2016

I attached the only photo I have. Is it not visible?

5. cleanup Oct 6, 2016

I did consult SM101. Just not sure what "Good" condition is; I don't believe it's collector status.

6. cvrle1 Oct 6, 2016

From the price chart on Speedy101: