Forums Latest Members
  1. desmovalves Nov 20, 2017

I'm just getting started as a collector, joined the forum a couple weeks ago and have been reading voraciously. The community is great so far, and this forum in particular is so well constructed and actively attended that it's a real pleasure to be involved. Thanks to everyone who's made me feel welcome, and especially to @ConElPueblo for the hospitality and advice.

SO.... I went on a bit of a spree last week and snatched up 4 watches, only one of which has arrived. So, by the difference of a few days in shipping, THIS is my first vintage Omega :thumbsup:

Seamaster Cosmic 166.023 with a (presumed) cal 565 automatic movement

-case doesn't appear to have been heavily polished, edges still sharp, although stamping for ref # in back shows some wear (maybe from a NATO?)

-dial is in nice condition, appears to my rookie eyes to be factory original, there is some wear to the minute indices (I suspect from a not-too-cautious crystal removal?). I really enjoy this silver with black livery.

- seller had stated crown and crystal replaced, not Omega OE, I've already ordered the correct crown, not sure if I'll bother with the crystal for the sake of the Omega logo, current one is in nice condition.

- watch was advertised an non-quick-set date (cal 562), but I was happily surprised to find the date does cycle with a push-pull of the crown, indicating the watch is a 565 movement (I have not removed to verify, I don't have the tools to do so as of yet, because front-loader)

It arrived on a padded strap that was none too comfortable, so I swapped on an old Horween strap from a quartz watch I had. Debating what to fit it with next. I do like the grey color.

Impressions: appears to be keeping great time. I really enjoy the case and dial design, the smooth action of the crown when wound, and the sweep of the second hand. I find myself staring at the watch a lot. I'm in for it, aren't I?:)