Forums Latest Members
  1. cnjackson Jul 25, 2016

Dear All--I believe this is my first post on the Omega Forums. I found my way here a little while ago in trying to learn a bit more about this watch (sorry for the very poor images: I have only my phone, and no photography skills to speak of!).

IMG_20160725_175431458.jpg
    IMG_20160725_175657060.jpg

This watch (as well as a gold-capped and gold-dial version of it) used to belong to my grandfather on my mother's side. I believe he purchased it new in the 1950s. My parents had it serviced and have gifted it to me as a sort of heirloom. I received it about a week ago. It keeps good time, though its power reserve is not long. I have put it on a worn Nomos strap.

I am relatively new to watches and have only a small, modest collection--and this is my only Omega and only vintage watch. I would love to learn more about it.

So far, I've gathered that this Constellation is from the early 1950s. It has a bumper movement, and it is fascinating to feel and hear it bouncing away inside.

I must say that I immediately liked the watch, but it is also growing on me in a slower more gradual way as I come to appreciate its feel, proportions, and grace.

The first thing I want to note is the dial: it is what I assume was once a black dial that, in the last 60-odd years has faded or patinated to a kind of brown that I'm having a hard time naming. But there is some warmth to the dial now, and in natural light it almost shimmers.

The dial also has a sort of bumpy texture that I really like. I think it's called a "waffle dial"? What I like about it is that it adds depth and dimension to the dial: it increases the sheer amount of surface area and this multiplies the ways light reflects off of it. It's a very mobile, active dial. It works well with all of the interesting facets of the indices (are they called "arrowhead" markers?). I'm also just stunned by the precision of the tiny text on such a textured surface.