Forums Latest Members
  1. alexchrysanthou May 16, 2014

hi, everyone, i am new to UG and this forum but after browsing the forum, i found this is a really nice place for making some friends who love UG to death!

i am thinking about getting my first UG but due to my lack of knowledge in UG, i would have to ask for your helps:). i am currently considering three UGs and i want to know if any of the dials is repainted? any part not original? and anything i should watch when make the purchase? here are the links to the three watches i am currently looking at:
    https://www.chrono24.com/en/univers...order=1&tab=pics&urlSubpath=/search/index.htm.

https://www.chrono24.com/en/univers...icnum=0&tab=pics&urlSubpath=/user/notepad.htm

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/UNIVERSAL-GENEVE-GOLD-PLATED-VINTAGE-GENTS-WATCH-/221281830720Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network.

the third UG is the one i am most interested in. the dial looks super clean so its a bit suspicious. here is a pic of the third UG but sadly no movement pic provided: View attachment 55649
    looking forward to your reply and have a nice day everyone.

2. alexchrysanthou May 16, 2014

sorry about the pics not showing, here it is:
    ob0943.jpg

3. alexchrysanthou May 16, 2014

4. timeismoney May 16, 2014

Welcome To the forum. I am no expert but the third one is definitely the worst selection you can make out of the three, no offense. The gold plating is almost worn off and the dial is disastrously re-painted, I would avoid the third one like the plague.

Aesthetically, I like the second one, the patina looks right and all the elements look right without looking at the Sala book on serial number. But I would ask for more pictures of the caseback, movement etc if you were to spend that kind of money. Wait for the experts to weight in. Good luck.

alexchrysanthou likes this.
  5. alexchrysanthou May 16, 2014