Forums Latest Members
  1. DirtyDenim Nov 20, 2012

They should be shipped tomorrow but I've yet to have any in my possession. I'm an NYC college student and work part-time as an intern so the big bucks aren't rolling in just yet, but I wanted a timepiece that's classic and versatile from a brand with history- and think I got that, two-fold.

Seamaster Day/Date Automatic

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Seamaster Day/Date Quartz

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I didn't anticipate winning both auctions, c'est la vie, although, I may want to flip one and recuperate some of those funds. But first I've got a few questions:

1. Am I naming these right?
      It's the best I could come up with from what I've gathered lurking in threads.

2. Are these vintage watches
      I've gathered that Omega watches date back to the mid 1800s, so what's considered vintage and what's considered modern?

3. What would you consider these watches to be roughly worth, at a glance?
      I understand the pictures are limited. Even a very rough figure may provide piece of mind.

4. Any special care instructions I should take note of?

Pardon my naivete, I welcome and appreciate all input.

astrosfan likes this.
  2. ulackfocus Nov 20, 2012

The first one is a forum favorite - and is nicknamed the Sparkle (to the dismay of Ashley / dsio). They were sold from 1967 into 1970 I think. The non-chronometer version like you have sells for $400 - $600 depending on condition, and yours looks very nice and has a bracelet that adds $50 - $75 to it's value.

Can't tell you much about the quartz piece besides it has to be from 1970 or later. Collectors don't go as bonkers for battery powered watches as they do for mechanicals. Still, it's in nice shape and would probably sell for $250 - $325.