Forums Latest Members

My first Omega purchase - Seamaster Deville - thoughts?

1. drzed Dec 8, 2018

Hi everyone
    I'm new to the Omega forums, as I just purchased my first Omega Seamaster Deville last weekend. I would love to hear your thoughts about the condition of the watch and if you think it's a redial. It looks to me like it as been relumed at some point. I don't have any service history and I haven't seen the movement yet. I think it comes out of the front of the watch, instead of the back and I've never taken the movement out of the front of a watch before. One concern is that there is no hippocampus on the back, but I have found other examples that also don't have the hippocampus. The crown is signed, which is nice. For now, I think it just needs a service (and the crystal needs to be replaced or polished) and it also needs a bracelet.

Thanks in advance for your advice!
    Mike

Omega face.JPG Omega back.JPG Omega crown.JPG

WhatYourWatchSay likes this.
  2. Vanallard Dec 8, 2018

Some watches that were intended to be given as service awards did not have the hippocampus on the back of the case so that the watch would be engraved/personalized.

The dial on your watch has been refinished.

WhatYourWatchSay likes this.
  3. Hnansen Dec 8, 2018

Relumed and redialed, yes.
    How much did you pay for it?

Davidt likes this.
  4. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Dec 8, 2018

Sorry, as noted the dial has been refinished and not very well.

5. drzed Dec 8, 2018

Thanks for the responses guys. I paid $150 for the watch. I am able to return it. The question is...is the watch worth keeping?

6. kelev_ra Dec 8, 2018

Depends on you. If you want to have a period correct watch: no. Otherwise: why not?
    PS: Caseback is badly polished...

7. drzed Dec 8, 2018

Thank you for the response. Can you educate me about why exactly the refinishing of the dial is not very good? Is it just the lume or am I missing something?

Cozzie likes this.
  8. drzed Dec 8, 2018