Forums Latest Members
  1. echelonff Oct 11, 2013

Hi Everyone,
    I'm a newbie here, but I am very excited to report that I bought my first vintage Omega wrist watch... it's a Seamaster L-6287 with a calibre 550. I bought it at a local pawn shop for $167, which I think was a decent price.

It has a few scratches on the back of the case, as it is a front loader, and some previous owner tried opening the back with a tool. But, I'm hoping I can have them polished out. I'd like to learn more about watchmaking, but not sure I'd want to start learning to polish on this one, as I think it's nice and I'd like to preserve it.

I love the dial color, and the wavy look of it... I was able to open the case with a case knife and the movement is clean and in great shape.

Does anyone know the approximate year of the watch, and/or how many were made? Is the dial common?

Also, curious about value, as I have been watching the "bay" and seeing non-operating seamasters and devilles going for more than what I paid for this one.

Thanks for your help!

[​IMG]

2. Dablitzer Oct 11, 2013

Wow - nice entrance! I have seen that dial once before and had a similar 'wave' dial... But yours is stunning. Like a cast of shell.

As for the price. I think you did very well! ;)

3. echelonff Oct 11, 2013

Thanks Dablitzer! I think the watch chose me. :)

The dial is clean, but not "too" clean (it doesn't look totally brand new, and proper to match the rest of the watch). I haven't seen a lot of these dials when I've been searching for comparisons online, so I am cautiously curious to see if it is common or not.

Do you have any ideas on the possible age of the watch? I searched the database on Omega's site, but the model wasn't listed there.

Dablitzer likes this.
  4. ulackfocus Oct 11, 2013