Forums Latest Members
  1. awesomemonkey Mar 2, 2019

Hi all - a newbie here, not exactly sure of all the rules and so-on just yet, so please forgive any misgivings!

I'm here to ask for some advice on whether an item I'm currently considering sounds reasonable - and I guess, importantly if I've missed something that may land me a costly mistake.

A little background: I've always loved the look of the Speedmaster Professional. It's my 'one day' watch. Just recently an article popped up in a newsfeed and there was a piece on Speedmasters that began that interesting wander that only Google can take you on, trawling page after page of watches... It then crossed my mind to have a search for the vintage from my birth year: 1977.

And this is where my 'one day' watch, became my 'you might have to purchase one today' watch.

I discovered only two (not on eBay, I hasten to add). The first, a digital Speedmaster - not one I'd seen before (not to my taste), and a second, regular 1977 Speedmaster Professional.

Imagine my surprise then, when that second example happens to be... in my hometown (imagine also, my wife's suprise (I'm pretty sure it was surprise)).

So I contact the Seller - we are meeting this week (he may even exist in this forum amongst the members, I have no idea) - but this is where I'd like to ask everyone's opinion...

He offers a 145.022-74 ST on a "vintage style leather strap with Omega pin buckle", listed as 'good condition' (from the images I see evidence of use), serviced 3 years ago. There is the red inner box (style checks out), but no white outer. There are no papers but there is an Extract from the Archive that cross-checks with the movement number on a photo of the workings he has sent me.

He is asking £4,500 (or thereabouts).