Forums Latest Members
  1. LJDRVR Apr 7, 2013

So here's my problem.

I have a '99 Omega Speedmaster Professional, the 30th anniversary moonwatch. The bracelet failed and it came off my wrist during a bike ride, I didn't notice. I went back and found it, it had been driven into the ground by cars.

I finally had it sent off to Omega last month, the repair quote is $3400. Including an $800 bracelet. So do I:

• Forget about it and save my money. Nothing dishonorable about wearing my Seiko and TImex.
    • Suck it up and get my speedy back, add it to my homeowner's insurance in the future and enjoy the watch?
    • Skip the OEM bracelet and put it on a nice reproduction of the NASA Velcro strap that once affixed these lovely watches to the Apollo astronaut's spacesuits?

I paid $1800 cash for this watch new in 1998. This Omega has been on my wrist all over the world and was the one watch from childhood I always wanted. They were $795 when I was sixteen, might have well been 10K.

Thanks for the opinions, I welcome everybody's opinions - flame away if you feel like it.

Necessary Items:

Movement Parts $593.00 Necessary
    Crown $71.00 Necessary
    Crystal $80.00 Necessary
    Dial $119.00 Necessary
    Hands $80.00 Necessary
    Water Test $0.00 Necessary
    Gasket $0.00 Necessary
    Bracelet Replacement $831.00 Necessary
    Miscellaneous $890.00 Necessary
    Complete Service $710.00 Necessary
    Total Necessary Items:$3,374.00

Total Cost of Service:$3,374.00*

2. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member Apr 7, 2013

Neither , get an alternative quote from Al Archer as he is an expert and fully trained on these. Archer

Al is a forum member here and operates Archer Watches, watch repair.

Prange likes this.
  3. ulackfocus Apr 7, 2013

You could buy a mint pre-owned replacement and keep the other for parts.

Prange likes this.
  4. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Apr 7, 2013

What's a Miscellaneous, why does it cost $890, and why is it necessary :\

5. AJDay Apr 7, 2013