Forums Latest Members

Master Chronometer accuracy and self-regulation

1. Benjo74 Jan 9, 2017

Hi all, I have been enjoying my new Globemaster since Christmas and have been monitoring its accuracy using the WatchTracker app (no reason other than nerdiness). Overall results look great, dead on after 15 days - see below:
    [​IMG]

However, when you look at the daily rate it is all over the place:
    [​IMG]

I know that with some other watches you can self-regulate. For example, I leave my Rolex GMT crown up overnight and this reduces some of the time gained during the day. As a result it is running about +0.5 seconds per day.

However, I'm new to Omega so I'm not sure whether this is something you might do with a master chronometer or whether there is a "best practice" way of keeping it accurate and consistent?

I'm going to start a new timing run today but this time I will lie the watch in the same position each night and see how it fares.

Any thoughts or comments are welcome - thanks all.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jan 9, 2017

All watches have positional variation, so if the watch stays in a specific position more one day, and in another position in another day, they rate will change. Postiional variation can be as much as 12 seconds over 5 positions at full wind, so the variation your feel is "all over the place" is actually not that bad.

If you want to find the position that either slows down or speeds up the watch, test the positions and then you can use that to regulate the watch overnight.

Cheers, Al

Knezz and Gwade like this.
  3. Benjo74 Jan 9, 2017

Thanks for the info, Al. That's my plan for this next few weeks - figure out which overnight position has what effect, then determine the best position to keep it as close to 0 as possible. Again, it's not a big deal but it just interests me to see how it holds up.

4. DMeister406 Jan 9, 2017