Forums Latest Members

Magnetic Resistance - Omega Seamaster 2500D

1. ChopGun Jul 23, 2016

Hi folks,

I'm in the market for my first Swiss watch and have my heart set on a Seamaster Diver 300m Co-Axial in Black. Having looked at many others this is my vastly preferred design.

The only thing stopping me handing over my hard-earned is the magnetic resistance of this watch. I do use an iPad on a frequent (daily) basis, and can imagine that the amount of magnetic fields the watch will be exposed to over the next decades to be ever-increasing.

My dilemma is this - should I wait until the Diver models are replaced with the 8500-series movements with >15k Gauss protection, or take the plunge with the current model? What are the consequences of having a watch magnetised, and what is the likelihood for an office worker who reads an iPad?

2. _Omega_ Jul 23, 2016

I work in the tech sector and have never had my 2500's compromised. If it did happen, it's easy to demagnetize.

Congrats on your decision and impending purchase!

Sent from a tiny keyboard

3. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Jul 24, 2016

Not an issue. But don't lay it down on the magnetic clasp on the iPad cover.

4. Nobel Prize Spell Master! Jul 24, 2016

Just get it and enjoy it already!! It's heat watch and one that never let me down.

Linzer and OMGRLX like this.
  5. al128 unsolicited co-moderation giverer Jul 24, 2016

no need to spend big a$$ dollars for anti-magnetic movements ... there are 50 dollar devices that demagnetize watches and can be reused 100s of times on many different watches - my hard earned pesos would go towards those. ;)

also, going out on a limb: I don't think that ipads (et al) create a strong magnet field at all. All those devices are very much optimized to get the most life out of the battery - and creating magnetic fields will def. suck juice fast out of it. So - again a guess - not too many magnetic fields on tablets, etc...