Forums Latest Members

Looking for my first luxury watch

1. jankymutt Mar 17, 2019

Hi Everyone,

After 12 years of school and training I am finally in a financial position to purchase a luxury watch. I have been lusting over a Seamaster for many years and would like to purchase the new 42mm Seamaster 300m watch on a rubber band (210.32.42.20.03.001). I know I would save ~$1000 going with last years model, but I want the new ceramic bezel, crystal caseback, new movement, etc..

My question is: where would you suggest I purchase from? I love the allure of saving $800 going grey market, but would prefer an AD. I found an AD that is willing to sell me the bracelet version for a few hundred off retail and throw in the OEM rubber strap. Should I pounce on that or keep searching? Thanks or any help!

2. maine-iac1 Mar 17, 2019

My $0.02 as a fellow newb. There are some trusted ADs that deliver decent markdowns, approaching grey market prices but with the factory warranty. I'd vote for going that route with the stainless bracelet, and have 'em throw in the rubber band. Should you decide to sell it down the road, the buyer will probably want the original 316 stainless bracelet. And if you keep the watch, then you have options if you want to change the look.

3. jankymutt Mar 17, 2019

Thanks for the input. I think that is the most logical decision. Do you know how much of a discount I can reasonably push for with an AD? As I was walking out the store the AD offered $350 off the version with the bracelet and a rubber strap. Seemed like a decent deal, but perhaps I can push for more? Grey market is around $4k so it seems like $4500 + rubber strap is a decent deal.

I travel internationally about 3-4 times/year and could also look at the duty free shops, but I feel like if I am kosher and claim the watch upon returning to the US, the customs fees negate any potential savings.

4. cjoedaniel Mar 17, 2019