Forums Latest Members

Looking at a Vintage Constellation...do these hands look correct?

1. david_watch Jun 28, 2015

Saw this listed on the bay, looks interesting for the price but I'm a novice in regards to Omegas so figured I'd check in here. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Omega-Const...488?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item33a3ee5470Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

I'm most curious about the white hands on this, to me they look somewhat out of place. Should they have correctly been silver or grey?

Thanks for reading,
    David

2. Peemacgee Purrrr-veyor of luxury cat box loungers Jun 28, 2015

the font is unusual in white -but looks pretty good to me -the photos aren't quite good enough to be sure
    pretty sure you are right to be worried about the hands
    hands should probably match the markers and look something like this

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 21.12.21.png

Desmond's site does show some later 751s with solid black hands -but with silver second sweep hand

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 21.21.13.png

Possibly a later service replacement set of hands on the eBay watch ? -but not right IMHO

Philip

3. david_watch Jun 29, 2015

Philip,

Thanks for the reply. I do appreciate your taking the time.

I must admit I never noticed the dial text was in white as well. I'm not sure if thats a good or bad thing. Would that lead you to believe the dial was refinished with newer hands or just a odd reference with white font and hands? I see it comes with a genuine Omega strap and buckle, is this a big deal or not? I have no idea if it is correct to this time-period watch.