Forums Latest Members

Longines 13 zn 18K Chrono with poorly refinished dial...

1. tmw57 Nov 30, 2015

This was purchased at an allegedly reputable European auction house a few weeks ago. I specifically asked (twice!) if the dial had been refinished. I was assured (twice!) that it was indeed the original finish. They told me their "watchmaker" had confirmed this.

I have very little knowledge when it comes to Longines Chrono's. But I think that I can recognize a mediocre refinish when I see one. I think the four poorly covered holes were for a "tachymetre ring" that snapped on the dial when the watch was in it's original condition.

The Auction house is being rather stubborn and delaying repayment until they hear back from Longines. They are sending these pictures and awaiting confirmation from Longines which may take "2-4 months".

Shouldn't any watchmaker be able to tell that this dial is clearly a refinish?

All thoughts and opinions are welcome..

DSC_6686.JPG DSC_6694-crop.jpg DSC_6695-crop.jpg DSC_6697-crop.jpg hole at 3.JPG hole at 6.JPG hole at 9.JPG hole at 9-1.JPG hole at 12.JPG
  2. tmw57 Nov 30, 2015

I may have to take some better crops so that the holes in the dial at the 4 cardinal points can be better visualized...

3. PHPHD Nov 30, 2015

Might be me, but the subdials don't look so good to me.

4. tmw57 Nov 30, 2015

No it's not only you. I don't think they look good at all...the minute markers are also pretty bad. And those holes in the dial?

5. BartH Follows a pattern of overpaying Dec 1, 2015

Auctionata, right?

What a sh#t company. I pointed them out that they had a fake LeCoultre Valjoux 72C chrono on sale. They insisted it was real.

LeCoultre (or JLC) never produced a Valjoux 72C full calendar.

image.jpg

Edited Dec 1, 2015
    DirtyDozen12 likes this.
  6. BartH Follows a pattern of overpaying Dec 1, 2015

7. Traveler Dec 1, 2015