Forums Latest Members
  1. wwlamkin Oct 5, 2018

From a local e-Bay seller... the condition seems too good to be true for $1,000 but I don't know enough to be certain. Has good reviews as a seller and claims to be a collector. Notes that the case has never been polished.
    "100% authentic(except the leather band and buckle) or your money back"

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. knvqn Oct 5, 2018

Too good to be true for $ 1,000?

Watch looks fine. The dial might have been touched up a bit.

I would honestly look around here at the private sales. I believe you can find a better watch for that price.

connieseamaster likes this.
  3. wwlamkin Oct 5, 2018

I'm still learning about correct price points apparently. What would be good for something along these lines? More like $750?
    I've been checking the forums every day - just a waiting game at this point I suppose.

4. Dan S Oct 5, 2018

$1000 is probably on the high end for that model, but it looks pretty nice (especially the case), so if you really love it, I wouldn't let the price stop you. There are lots of Seamaster variations, and everyone has their favorite. This one has the 166.003 case reference with gold dial furniture with onyx inlays in a stainless case. It's really not any more valuable than other variations, but maybe you really happen to like it. If so, and you pass it up, it might take a while for another one this nice to come along. So a collector might not mind paying-up a little bit.

On the other hand, if you're flexible and you're not necessarily looking for this particular reference, or this specific dial/hand variation, and price is an important consideration, then you will have opportunities to pick up nice Seamasters at slightly lower prices, especially without a bracelet. As suggested above, look through the sales forum, and you will see.

Edward53 and Noddyman like this.
  5. knvqn Oct 5, 2018

Prices for vintage watches can vary.