Forums Latest Members

Leave Chronograph Running?

1. Allandg Jun 13, 2019

I know this has been asked and answered numerous times, but I've been unable to locate a thread specific to the 3330 movement. I have a Speedy Mark II and would like to ask if it's okay to leave the chrono running constantly when I wear the watch. I should mention that I don't wear it all that often and intend to turn off the chrono function when I'm not wearing it, even if it's in the winder.

Thanks in advance :).

Commisar and Walrus like this.
  2. ext1 Jun 13, 2019

3330 is vertical clutch, so I think it should be honestly fine to keep it running. I used to run my DSOTM's chrono a lot since it has vertical clutch 9300.

3. AJwala Jun 13, 2019

Dear @ext1 and @Allandg

Sorry to jump in but what do you mean by a vertical clutch?

I have a Speedmaster reduced, my watchmaker also suggested I keep the Chronograph on, is this applicable for all types of chronograph?

Regards
    AJ

4. ext1 Jun 13, 2019

I learned from an Archer post on the difference. But basically very quickly there is horizontal and vertical clutch. Speedy 321/(1)861 are horizontal clutch because this guy moves in to engage the chrono wheel.
    upload_2019-6-14_1-29-47.png
    In vertical clutch there's a wheel that's dropped from the top to the bottom that starts to run together with another wheel that is already running all the time. Hence in vertical clutch there's no additional wheel the chrono needs to risk wearing out by engaging. In horizontal, a new wheel starts to run so there's wear.

Also in the speedy, the wheel that goes to engage is shaped a but pointy so that it can engage the chrono wheel and isn't really optimized for constantly running.

AJwala likes this.
  5. ext1 Jun 13, 2019

Waltesefalcon and AJwala like this.
  6. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jun 13, 2019