Forums Latest Members

Just got my first Omega! Questions about service and cleaning

1. IAm_KY Feb 3, 2017

Hello everyone! New member here from Toronto. My interest for watches started at the end of last year when I decided the Apple Watch was no longer my thing. I started with a Seiko Presage 60th Anniversary SSA309J1 and then picked up the Aqua Terra Master Co-Axial in December! The AT is a beautiful timepiece and I can't stop looking at it :) Since I am new to watches, I have two questions.

Is there any special cloth I should use to clean the watch and sapphire crystal? I know the anti-reflection coating could scratch and my friend's Rolex Milgauss has a few scratches on the coating so I want to make sure I clean it properly to avoid that. So far, the coating seems quite good since I've scratched the sapphire crystal on a few occasions and no damage is visible.

Also, I know Omega recommends taking your watch in for service every 4-5 years. I have friends that never take their watches in for service and have not had issues or lose accuracy. What is common practice for most people? I wear the watch about 3 days a week so it's not constantly in use. How often should I service the 8500 movement to ensure optimal condition? I know there are a few very experienced watchmakers and collectors here and would love your feedback. Thanks!

IMG_1230.JPG

2. Pun Feb 3, 2017

Congratulations for joining the forum and having a good quality watch.
    You can clean it with any soft damp cloth IMHO. This watch is considered a tool watch therefore doesn't need any special care. There are people who like to baby their watches but I don't agree with that approach. Your watch will last few generations, to expect the least, with only reasonable care and timely service. The service interval for this movement is ideally 5-7 years if you use it regularly or daily. It's a great watch and wear it in good health.

IAm_KY, jedical and Larry S like this.
  3. jedical Feb 4, 2017