Forums Latest Members

Just bought my first vintage Omega - Thoughts? And any ideas where to go from here?

1. JFWWYaxley Dec 5, 2015

I'm somewhat new to the whole vintage watch collecting thing, with only a few lesser known vintage watches to my name.

I've just stepped up a notch a bought my first Omega - it's a Seamaster from around 1961 judging by the serial, with ref number 14700 4 SC. Gold capped with a cal 552 in good working order; shame about the non-original strap though, and the dial has been professionally refinished. image.png image.png image.png image.png

Thoughts? And any ideas on where to go from here in terms of collecting?

2. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Dec 5, 2015

I would look for an all original version (strap isn't that big a deal, IMHO). Buy what you like. I started with a 1958 Seamaster but thought I needed to have a Speedmaster and Flightmaster in my collection. After I purchased them, I realized they weren't my thing so I sold the Speedy and will be selling the Flightmaster. I am now focusing on 50's and 60's Seamasters and Constellations, with a couple of odds and ends thrown in for good measure. I can go broke playing in this pool a little more slowly than in the Speedmaster's.

JFWWYaxley likes this.
  3. JFWWYaxley Dec 5, 2015

Thanks for the reply, and I see what you mean about all original. In all fairness I got this Seamaster for a very fair price at auction. As for Speedys the only chronos I really like are Daytonas and Eberhards! I'm much more of a plain-dial person.

4. Peemacgee Purrrr-veyor of luxury cat box loungers Dec 5, 2015

I have a thing for dome dial Connies
    Simple and elegant

Good ones come up frequently

And top notch movements

JFWWYaxley likes this.
  5. PatrickJ Dec 5, 2015