Forums Latest Members

JLC Atmos finally spot on....

1. Wryfox Jul 17, 2019

Most of you don't recall the drama I had with a US clockmaker re my 1960s Atmos clock. You can find by search if you like but suffice to say it would not run properly once returned(10minutes/day fast). Basically it had been manually overwound when attempting to preset the mainspring for normal operation by the bellows.

Since it runs on 'air' the issue could take months or up to a year to resolve itself.

(Fun Fact: the Atmos clock runs on so little energy, 4 MILLION Atmos clocks would run on 1watt of energy.)

So I have been tweaking it for the last 2 years (everything about adjusting an atmos takes weeks to see results).

Now. Finally. It is running well. VERY well. The average for the last 3 months is -1.57secs/DAY

A 57 year old clock. Wow.

I was told they can be extremely accurate but take a lot of care to do so.

I'm excited to finally see it spot on so wanted to share the success.:)

Hooray!

Pic below of Atmos clock as it sits, with uber rare JLC wall mount.
    20190717_104412.jpg

Tony C., apsm100, Jimbo555 and 32 others like this.
  2. budgewink Jul 17, 2019

Wonderful Clock, well done on fine tuning it so accurately.

Wryfox likes this.
  3. MikeMan2727 Jul 17, 2019

Well done! I've always wanted to get one of these.

Wryfox likes this.
  4. Wryfox Aug 28, 2019

A month and a half later, it is better still!

From mid July to mid August, the accuracy avgd 0.6 seconds/day.

The last two weeks have been 0.15 seconds/day.

Yes, it lost only 2 seconds in TWO WEEKS.

WOW.

But people say these clocks are temperamental. THEY ARE.

It took 2 YEARS for me to get this fine of an accuracy, as it takes several days to weeks to stabilize after each adjustment.

Not bad for a clock built in 1962.

Edited Aug 28, 2019
    gostang9, omegasaso12, DaveK and 3 others like this.
  5. jud Aug 28, 2019

That's very cool.

6. 89-0 Aug 28, 2019